Josh Lindblom Wins 2010 Mulvey Award
Josh Lindblom
Josh Lindblom
Posted Mar 30, 2010

Right-hander Josh Lindblom is the lucky 13th pitcher to win the Jim and Dearie Mulvey Award is given annually to the Dodgers’ best spring-training rookie. The award previously was voted on by Dodgers media, but with their number dwindling, it’s now voted upon by the coaching staff.

Lindblom impressed the staff, despite throwing just 4.0 innings during Cactus League play due in part to his being on the roster that went to Taiwan. The Indiana native was a second round pick by the Dodgers in 2008 out of Purdue.

Lindblom, who allowed only three hits in is four innings also struck out seven, has had an outside chance of capturing the fifth spot in the rotation in the spring of both 2009 and 2010.

However, he has options remaining, while several other candidates will have to be released if they fail to make the final 25-man roster. The Indiana native is expected to start the season at Triple-A Albuquerque.

Five of the Mulvey winners went on to earn National League Rookie of the Year honors. They included second baseman Ted Sizemore (1969) the first recipient of the award; Fernando Valenzuela (1981), who also won the Cy Young Award the same season; first baseman Eric Karros (1992), who is the all-time Los Angeles home run leader with 269; catcher Mike Piazza (1993), who is the only player to win the award twice, in 1992 and 1993; and Raul Mondesi (1994), who later became the first 30-home runs, 30-steals player in Los Angeles history (1997 and 1999).

Previous winners:

2010 -- RHP Josh Lindblom
2009 -- OF Xavier Paul
2008 -- 3b Blake DeWitt
2007 -- 2B Tony Abreu
2006 -- LHP Hong-Chih Kuo
2005 -- OF Jason Repko
2004 -- 1B James Loney
2003 -- OF Chin-Feng Chen
2002 -- SS Cesar Izturis
2001 -- RHP Luke Prokopec
2000 -- OF Tony Mota
1999 -- RHP Onan Masaoka
1998 -- 1B Paul Konerko
1997 -- 2B Wilton Guerrero
1996 -- 1B Jay Kirkpatrick
1995 -- RHP Antonio Osuna
1994 -- OF Raul Mondesi
1993 -- C Mike Piazza
1992 -- C Mike Piazza
1991 -- 1B Eric Karros
1990 -- RHP Jim Nedlnger
1989 -- OF Chris Gwynn
1988 -- SS Craig Shipley
1987 -- OF Mike Ramsey
1986 -- OF Reggie Williams
1985 -- 1B Sid Bream
1984 -- 3B German Rivera
1983 -- RHP Orel Hershiser
1982 -- OF Mike Marshall
1981 -- LHP Fernando Valenzuela
1980 -- OF Rudy Law
1979 -- OF Pedro Guerrero
1978 -- RHP Bob Welch
1977 -- RHP Rick Sutcliffe
1976 -- OF Glenn Burke
1975 -- RHP Rick Rhoden
1974 -- 3B Jerry Royster
1973 -- RHP Eddie Solomon
1972 -- C Steve Yeager
1971 -- RHP Bobby Darwin
1970 -- OF Bill Buckner
1969 -- 2B Ted Sizemore


Related Stories
Prospect #10 - RHP Josh Lindblom
 -by  Jan 21, 2010
Bustabad Records His 600th Win
 -by  Aug 9, 2009
Josh Lindblom Wins Triple-A Debut
 -by  Jul 3, 2009

> Members-only Forums
> Insider Information
> MiLB &
   MLB Draft News
> Expert Chats

Sign Up Today!

Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.

Add Players to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite players. Click name to add to My HotList.
SP Josh Lindblom (profile)
[View My HotList]